The 5+ Layers of the Internet

The vLab network model

Historically two major layered network architectures emerged as reference models known today: The ISO/OSI and the TCP/IP models. The TCP/IP model was the first approach to structure network communication using 4 different layers. The ISO/OSI model followed later, offering a even more detailed model with 7 different layers. For the iLabX – The Internet Masterclass…

Read More

Even Vint Cerf, father of the Internet, loves studying how it works!

The Internet is a wonderful piece of software! Even though being designed many years ago, the architecture still scales and definitely showed that is is very future proof! The Internet could grow that much as it heavily makes use of the abstraction principle. Everything is encapsulated in to building blocks. Parts of the communication stack…

Read More

iLabX – The Internet Masterclass

Learning how the Internet really works On June 24, 2019, Technical University of Munich (TUM) released its new Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) “iLabX – The Internet Masterclass” ( The free course on the edX platform teaches students, professionals, and technology-interested people how the backbone of today’s digital society actually works: The Internet. The course…

Read More