The 5+ Layers of the Internet

The vLab network model

Historically two major layered network architectures emerged as reference models known today: The ISO/OSI and the TCP/IP models. The TCP/IP model was the first approach to structure network communication using 4 different layers. The ISO/OSI model followed later, offering a even more detailed model with 7 different layers. For the iLabX – The Internet Masterclass…

Read More

iLabX – The Internet Masterclass

Learning how the Internet really works On June 24, 2019, Technical University of Munich (TUM) released its new Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) “iLabX – The Internet Masterclass” ( The free course on the edX platform teaches students, professionals, and technology-interested people how the backbone of today’s digital society actually works: The Internet. The course…

Read More